Part of the annual Human Resources Outstanding Achievement Awards ceremony, the Distance Education (DE) Award is given to a faculty and support staff member whose efforts support quality online course offerings at Mason. Funded by Mason Online, the award is presented by the President during the annual awards ceremony. This year’s recipients include Dr. Scott Bauer, Eric Tateosian, and the “Introduction to Digital Humanities” team. Congratulations, all!

Faculty Award

Scott Bauer

Dr. Scott Bauer wins the 2015 DE Faculty Award. Photo courtesy of CEHD.

Director of the Education Leadership program, Dr. Scott Bauer is the 2015 DE Faculty Award winner. A great example of faculty initiative and leadership, Scott has led the online development of EDLE 791 and has been actively involved in several other courses. He utilizes a variety of technologies to facilitate student learning and engagement in his courses. Additionally, Scott created a new WordPress system to house students’ final portfolios. Thanks to his efforts, every student in the Education Leadership program, whether face-to-face or online, now enjoys a more consistent and enriching internship experience, a model for other programs to consider.

Staff Award

Eric Tateosian

Eric Tateosian wins the 2015 DE Staff Award. Photo courtesy of ITS.

For his outstanding dedication to faculty, especially those teaching online courses, Eric Tateosian is the 2015 DE Staff Award winner. Eric has developed innovative online training methods to support adjunct and distant faculty, and he tirelessly follows up on faculty and student support requests to ensure their success. Faculty have described Eric’s service as “AWESOME,” “over and above my expectations,” and “invaluable.” There is no doubt he also inspires his colleagues to put their best effort forward. One instructor wrote that Eric “makes me feel like I own the changes I need to make to be a better online instructor!”

Special Recognition Award

This year, the “HIST 680: Introduction to Digital Humanities” team won special recognition for their collaborative efforts to build the new Online Digital Public Humanities (DPH) graduate certificate. The seven member team includes course instructor Dr. Stephen Robertson, project manager Jennifer Rosenfeld, interactive and multimedia developer Chris Preperato, senior developer James McCartney, junior developer Joo-Ah Lee, research assistant Caroline Kelley, and project director Dr. Kelly Schrum. The team continues to push the envelope in online learning technologies and strategies, building a sequence of study connected to the real-world environment of DPH and establishing a new model that can inspire all programs at Mason.

digital public humanities team

The “Introduction to Digital Humanities” team wins a DE Special Recognition Award.
Photo courtesy of Mason Creative Services.

For previous DE Award winners, see Norden Receives DE Faculty Award, Nodine Selected for DE Support Award, and Congratulations to November Awardees.